We’re here to help

Need to talk it over?
Call us on +44 1276 486477
or request a free call back here

Get a quote

What are you looking for?

Call +44 1276 486477
Request a callback


Get a quote

About our plans

Get a quote online

About William Russell

For Brokers

Brexit is coming on 31st October 2019. William Russell is ready. Find out how we are protecting our customers here.

Your area of cover explained

We’ve made our areas of cover simpler from 2019. Please read on to discover our new zones for 2019.

If your plan started on or before 31 December 2018, please read our 2018 areas of cover.

Area of cover zones for plans starting from Jan 1, 2019

For full definitions of your zone, please consult the relevant 2019 plan agreement:

Zones 1, 2 & 3 are available on the 2019 Elite health plan.
Zones 4 & 5 are available on the 2019 Essential health plan.

We made our 2019 Elite Areas of Cover simpler.

Excluded countries

There is no cover available in our excluded countries, other than Switzerland where you will be covered for temporary trips.

If your country of residence becomes one of the below, your cover with us will automatically terminate from the renewal date.

Iran, Libya, Korea, S. Sudan, Switzerland, Syria, Yemen, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo, United States of America.

If you have any further questions about your zone, please consult your 2019 health plan agreement, or please contact us.

Zone 1

Worldwide excluding the USA. You can add on USA cover options of temporary trips of 45 or 90 days cover to Zone 1.

Zone 2

Worldwide excluding the USA but with the limitations.


Zone 2 restricted country list

EU countries, the UK, Andorra, Channel Islands, Gibraltar, Greenland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland, Australia, China, Hong Kong, Japan, Macau, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, Taiwan, The UAE, Canada, Caribbean Countries & Islands.

Click on the map to expand it.

Zone 2 availability

Zone 2 is available when your country of residence is one of the following:

Angola, Antarctica, Argentina, Armenia, Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Azerbaijan, Baker island, Bangladesh, Bassas da India, Belarus, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Bouvet Island, Brazil, British Indian Ocean territory, Brunei, Burundi, Cambodia, Cape Verdi, Chechnya, Chile, Clipperton Island, Congo (democratic & republic), Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Europa Island, Falkland Islands, Fiji, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antartic Lands, Gambia, Gaza strip, Georgia, Ghana, Glorioso Islands, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Herd & Mcdonald islands, Holy See, Howland Island, India, Indonesia, Jan Mayen, Jarvis Island, Johnston Atoll, Juan de Nova Island, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kingman Reef, Kiribati, South Korea, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lesotho, Liberia, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Caledonia, Nigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Pitcairn Islands, Reunion, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Svalbard, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor Leste, Tokelau, Tonga, Trumelin Island, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wake Island, Wallis and Futuna, West Bank, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

2019 Essential health zones

Our essential health plans have restricted cover and are available in certain regions only, in Africa and the Indian Subcontinent and in South East Asia. Please contact us to find out more.

The cover provided by your essential health plan is worldwide, subject to the following exclusions and restrictions:-

  • No cover in the United States of America, Canada, Caribbean countries & islands, and the London area
  • Limited cover in the restricted countries and regions stated below
  • Full cover in all other countries

Zones 4&5 restricted country list

EU countries, the UK (London has no cover at all), Andorra, Channel Islands, Gibraltar, Greenland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland, Australia, China, Hong Kong, Japan, Macau, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, The UAE.

See what our customers say

Need some help?

Request a callback

Call our UK experts on

+44 (0) 1276 486455
Get a quote